Year Built: 1921/1943
Architect: Frederick S. Scott/Reinholdt F. Henning
Style: Prairie School
Designated Omaha Landmark: 12/19/1978
Listed in the National Register of Historic Places: 5/29/1980
The long, low projecting roofs of St. John’s A.M.E. Church mark it as a fine and unique example of the Prairie style of architecture in Nebraska. Designed by Omaha architect Frederick S. Stott, the structure represents a progressive attitude on the behalf of its black congregation at a time when traditional values in religious architecture remained prevalent. St. John’s was organized in 1865 with a membership of five persons. This, the third building to serve the congregation, was commenced in 1921 -- worship services being held in the basement for 21 years due to a decision that construction would proceed only as funds allowed. The auditorium was first used in 1947 and auxiliary rooms were finished in 1956.